view of washington monument at night

Life Update: I’m Moving. Again.

Leave a comment
EXPLORING DC, HOME LIFE

Big news in Morgan Land!

i am moving wsahington dc

Yep, that’s right. 4 years in DC + 4 moves = 1 tired girl.

I’m a pro at moving now. I’ve become numb to the tedious process of purging, packing, and dealing with the devil (aka Comcast Customer Service.)

petworth washington dc

(young Morgan in Petworth)

I started my Washington, DC city residency in the scariest-ever basement apartment in Petworth, a neighborhood north of Columbia Heights that is not yet “up and coming.” From there I lived with a roommate in beautiful and quiet Glover Park, the very welcomed opposite of Petworth. And now my tiny high-rise studio in Cathedral Heights, nextdoor to my gal pal Cathy.

national cathedral dc

(my neighbor Cathy, aka the National Cathedral)

In the past 4 years I’ve taken a lot of pride in my DC residency.  My sassy DC “Taxation without Representation” license plate make me giddy. The lack of voting representation in Congress makes me feel special. Joe Biden is my neighbor. I don’t live in a state, I call the District home.

But as much as I love living downtown, city life wears on you. It is exhausting having to order toilet paper off Amazon Prime and parallel parking 5 times a day.

view of washington monument at night

So this March I’m saying buh-bye to my DC residency and heading out to the “burbs!” You’re talking to the newest resident of Alexandria, Virginia! Ok, so it’s technically not the suburbs. I’m still 5 minutes from the city, but I’m moving to a whole new state!

Sam & I will be living in a wonderful (and massive compared to my studio) townhouse in Alexandria. There is literally a white picket fence surrounding the patio out front, perfect for Tilly. Straight out of Pleasantville. And totally worth giving up my DC claims.

washington dc movers

(thankful for family that helps you move & are returning to help a second time)

Any moving or cohabitation advice for me?

Posted by

Reidmore blogger, Washington DC explorer, & Tilly lover Blogging about life in DC, travels, and home & personal style.

Comment