watercolor class supplies

Watercolorist In Training

Leave a comment
EXPLORING DC, HOME LIFE

This spring I am putting my inner artist to the test. Once a week I head to The Art League in Alexandria, Virginia (part of the Torpedo Factory Art Center) for a few hours of watercolor painting lessons with my artsy, fartsy, partner-in-crime, Ashley.

Last fall when I took my intense Front End Web Development classes at General Assembly after work, I was busy but so happy. I was proud of challenging myself and trying something outside my comfort zone. Taking this watercolor class only allows me to expand my skillset further.

watercolor class suppliesThe class, Watercolor: From Start to Finish, covers all of the basics. My only experience watercolor painting was way back in high school art class, so it’s helpful for the instructor to start at the beginning with painting techniques and color theory. She even goes into the explanation of proper materials, like brushes, paints, papers, erasers, and more. Who knew that a pink gum eraser is the best on watercolor paper? Or that certain brands of red watercolor paints fade faster than others in the sun? As a kid in science class, you learned that water molecules attract water molecules. But until a class like this, you don’t really understand what that means for watercolor painting techniques.

So much to be learned.

watercolor lessons washington dc watercolor classes for beginners washington, dc | reidmore blog

3 weeks in, our class projects and homework have been very basic. We are literally painting 3D shapes in black and white and creating our own color wheels. I am looking forward to the point where I can do all sorts of watercolor paintings and not be a beginner. Even at the slow beginner’s pace, it is so nice to have a creative outlet each week.

beginner watercolor lessons | reidmore blog watercolor lessons washington, dc | reidmore blog watercolor class art league alexandria, va

Until my watercolor skills catch up my ambitious imagination, I’m occupying myself on Pinterest. Ashley & I are pinning really cool and beautiful watercolor inspiration on a shared Watercolor board. A board full of projects we hope to bring to life shortly.

learning how to water color | reidmore blog watercolor class alexandria virginia

Has all this watercolor talk made you nostalgic for grade school art class? If you’re in the greater Washington, DC area, visit The Art League website for information on future classes. Or check out the fun classes The Smithsonian Associates & Glen Echo Park offer as well.

Happy painting!

Posted by

Reidmore blogger, Washington DC explorer, & Tilly lover Blogging about life in DC, travels, and home & personal style.

Comment