Iceland trip

Here we come, Iceland, Sweden & Denmark

1 comment
TRAVEL
blue lagoon spa iceland

Flickr – Jonathan Percy

One day during my typical travel blog reading, I stumbled upon the flight deal of all flight deals. Washington, DC to Reykjavik. Yes, the airline was a not-so-luxurious budget liner and the deals were eligible for the fall – over 10 months away. But flights were $99 each way.

Flickr  - Michael Caven

Flickr – Michael Caven

No words could properly convey my excitement level. As a Swede myself, I’ve been oggling photos of Northern Europe for some time now. One of my best friends is Danish and lives in Copenhagen, and I’ve been anxious to make my overdue visit. And after watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (too many times,) partially filmed in scenic Iceland, we were psyched.

3 minutes later, we booked.

sweden countryside trip

Flickr – kadege 59

 

copenhagen sightseeing

Flickr – Vic

denmark vacation planning

Flickr – Nelson L

This September I will be traveling to Iceland, Sweden, and Denmark for the first time.

With plenty of time to plan the trip, I am on a vacation adrenaline high (it’s a real thing, y’all.) We are taking our time to research the best sights, food, tours, etc. In Iceland I want to visit the Blue Lagoon Spa and go off-roading to explore the incredible landscapes. In Sweden I want to visit Stockholm and get a better understanding of my heritage (beyond Ikea & herring.) And in Denmark I hope to visit my friend, Raisa, and see the country she loves so much.

iceland road trip vacation

Flickr – Moyan Brenn

Iceland northern lights iceberg

Flickr – Moyan Brenn

Any advice for our Europe trip? Have you been to Iceland, Sweden, or Denmark? Like what does one pack for 9 days? Right now I’m mostly using Pinterest and Google, so any help is appreciated!

*All Flickr Creative Commons photos – see links for more beautiful photos

Posted by

Reidmore blogger, Washington DC explorer, & Tilly lover Blogging about life in DC, travels, and home & personal style.

One thought on “Here we come, Iceland, Sweden & Denmark”

Comment